Test de Connaissance du Français

TCF - Test de Connaissance du Français (French proficiency test)

Contact those centres, which have indicated "Yes" for information on modules, types of exams and also dates.

The Test de Connaissance du Français (TCF) evaluates the general level of the candidate in French. Its principle advantage is that it permits non-native speakers to quickly and simply evaluate their proficiency in the language. THE CERTIFIICATION IS VALID FOR TWO YEARS. It is recognized by the French Ministry of National Education, and the European Union, as well as by different international bodies.

The TCF is usually required by most French universities in order for foreign students to enroll in their different academic departments (facultés).

The TCF includes 5 different components:

  • 3 mandatory tests : Written comprehension, oral comprehension, mastery of language structures.
  • 2 additional tests : Oral expression, written expression.

The TCF establishes 6 different levels

  • level 1 : elementary (basic French).
  • level 2 : advanced elementary .
  • level 3 : intermediate .
  • level 4 : advanced intermediate.
  • level 5:  superior .
  • level 6 : advanced superior .

Note: French universities usually require level 4 proficiency.

The TCF permits students receiving a high score to access the more advanced tests of the DELF (Diplôme d'Etudes en Langue Française – Diploma of French Language Studies) and the DALF (Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française – Advanced Diploma of French Language).